Skip to main content
Banner Image

RIL 12 Week Hybrid SA

Course Information

Course Information

Course Description:

In this course, students will develop the research skills necessary for completing college assignments and sustaining life-long learning. Working hands-on through Gill Library and completing in-class and weekly assignments, students will cultivate the information literacy skills essential for success in a college setting. The goal of this course is to assist students in acquiring confidence and proficiency in seeking, evaluating, and managing the wealth of information currently available in print, media and online.  The Research and Information Literacy course is designed to work in conjunction with Language, Thought and Critical Analysis and Core Seminars such as Urban Community and Human Body to assist students in the successful completion of their research assignments.   

Course Objectives:  In keeping with the ACRL Association of College and Research Libraries Information Literacy Standards,  Frameworks, and Practices (http://www.ala.org/acrl/issues/infolit/standards) the following course objectives will enable students to:

  1. Select and refine an academic research topic, select related search terms, and create a research question 
  2. Develop and execute an effective research strategy (select appropriate sources; use appropriate research methods and advanced tools to find relevant research materials)
  3. Cite resources properly using MLA citation format
  4. Evaluate research sources
  5. Avoid plagiarism\
  6. Navigate Gill Library Web site to locate and use resources, services, and virtual features

 

 

Grading Criteria:   Grading will be based on the attached course rubric.

  • Attendance and participation:                10%
  • Mid-term Project:                                   30%
  • Online Assignments:                              30%  
  • Final Exam:                                            30%

Hybrid Course Format:

This course is offered in hybrid format combining face to face class sessions and an online component.  The online component will require a minimu, of one half hour ( ½ hr) additional lab time by students each weekSee Online Assignments in the Course Requirements section for details. regarding require online weekly course assignments.

Discussion/Lab Work:   Each class will consist of a discussion period and hands-on lab exercises.

Homework:   Readings will be assigned weekly.  Students are expected to complete assigned readings before the start of each class.  Additional homework may be assigned related to Lab work.

Online Assignments:    Students are required to view online presentations from the ProQuest Research Companion series or other sources and write essays related to the topics covered.  The weekly essays will be collected and counted toward 30 percent of the course grade to fulfill the hybrid requirements of the course.

 Midterm Project:  Avoiding Plagiarism Essay

  • An essay formatted according to MLA 7th EditionStudents will write an essay in response to reading a selected article on the topic of plagiarism. The essay must show evidence of avoiding plagiarism through paraphrasing, quoting, author introduction, in-text citations, and a works cited page.

Final Examination:  A cumulative final examination will be given on the last day of class covering the six course objectives.

Loading

Statement of Academic Integrity

Statement of Academic Integrity:

Plagiarism includes, but is not limited to, using copyrighted published information without in-text citation; paraphrasing deliberately without citing; incorrectly listing references or works cited pages; purchasing papers online or from other individuals; passing off the writing and/or research concepts of others as your own; and paying a ghostwriter for doing a student's paper. Plagiarism also includes neglecting to adhere to all MLA or APA  format rules governing plagiarism. The commission of any form of plagiarism will be reviewed by faculty and staff and can result in serious disciplinary action which may lead to dismissal. 

Course Text

Help and Tech Tips

How to Find the Library Online

http://www.cnr.edu/home/library

or Go to the Intranet  http://intranet.cnr.edu, Go to Quick Links, Gill Library

or Go to the CNR Web site:  http://www.cnr.edu  Go to Quick Links, Gill Library

Laptop WIFI Instructions: http://kb.cnr.edu/?s=wifi

Virtual Help Desk

Information Systems:   (914) 654-5012 or visit http://support.cnr.edu 

Loading

test

RIL PreTest

RIL Pre Test

Week 1: Introduction

Week 1: Introduction

Class Objectives:

  • Orientation
  • Introduction to Information Literacy
  • Introduction to Gill Library and Web site

Discussion:

  • Class Introductions
  • Syllabus review, policies, class format, projects, expectations
  • What is Information Literacy?
  • Academic research and writing conventions
  • Definition of terms
  • Introduction to Gill Library and Web site: resources, policies, services
  • Introduction to ProQuest Research Companion online series

Lab Exercises

·        Pre-Test

·        Register in ProQuest Research Companion

·        Write a three paragraph essay explaining what you hope to learn in this course, what your concerns and interests are regarding this course followed by group discussion

·        (Instructor's choice of assignment) For example: 

         Students break up into groups.  Each group selects and explores two pages from one of the four drop down menus on the Library home page (About, Services, Resources, Help).  Groups record and present findings to class.

Online Assignment:  Topics and Terms

  • Complete ProQuest Research Companion Module 01: Where do I start?  http://pqrc.proquest.com/ and write a one page essay describing what you learned

Homework:   

·        Read Badke:  Chapter 1 Welcome to the Information Fog  pp: 1 – 21

Video: From the Printing Press to The Internet (A Student's Delightful Presentation)

Week 2: Finding and Refining Topics

Week 2: Finding and Refining Academic Topics

Class Objectives:

·        Choose an academic research topic

  • Develop a thesis statement 
  • Select search terms
  • Create a research question 

Discussion:

·        Discussion of ProQuest Research Companion viewing and assignment

  • Finding and refining a research topic (and thesis statement)
  • Identifying search terminology
  • Concept mapping: CREDO Mind Map and Gale Academc OneFile Topic Finder
  • Elements of a well-developed question

Lab Exercises

·        Concept/mind-mapping:   http://libraryguides.cnr.edu/RIL1 

Online Assignment:  Topics and Terms Complete ProQuest Research Companion Module

02: How do I choose a topic?  http://pqrc.proquest.com/ and write a one page essay describing what you learned

Homework:   

·        Read Badke:  Chapter  2:  Taking Charge pp: 22- 47

 

Concept Mapping

The Thesis Statement

Week 3: Research Strategy: The Library Catalog

Week 3: Research Strategy: The Library Catalog

Class Objectives:
◦Develop and perform effective search strategies
◦Use the Library Catalog

Discussion:

◦ Discussion of ProQuest Research Companion viewing and assignment
◦ Introduction to the Library catalog:  Books, Discovery Platform
◦ Developing and executing an effective search strategy using the Library Catalog
◦ Working with keywords and subject terms
◦ Using “My Library” to review Library user record and renew a book
◦ Using WorldCat, ILL to obtain books from outside of Gill Library

Lab Exercises:  

◦Experiment with search strategies to locate books and e-books in the Library Catalog.
◦Explore “Discovery” platform
◦Explore WorldCat and InterLibrary Loan
◦Register in ILLiad

Online Assignment:  Exploring Databases

•Complete ProQuest Research Companion Module 03: Where do I find information?  http://pqrc.proquest.com/  and write a one page essay describing what you learned.


Homework: 

Read Badke:   Chapter  5:  Discovery Searches, Library Catalogs and Journal Databases. Pp:  94-128

 

Exercise Assignment Handouts

Week 4: Research Strategy: Library Databases

Week 4: Research Strategy: Library Databases

Class Objectives:

  • Develop and perform effective search strategies

  • Use Gill Library databases

Discussion:

  • Discussion of ProQuest Research Companion viewing and assignment
  • Introduction to Library Databases Web pages (Databases A-Z and by Subject)
  • Introduction to Academic Search Complete multidisciplinary database
  • Applying advanced searching techniques: working with Boolean operators, modifiers/limiters/special features
  • Working with LinkSource and Interlibrary Loan to obtain articles outside of Gill Library

Lab Exercises:   

  • Develop and perform search strategies in Library databases

Online Assignment:  Exploring Databases

  • Complete ProQuest Research Companion Module 06: How do I write a thesis statement?  http://pqrc.proquest.com/ and write a one page essay describing what you learned

    Homework:

Read Badke: Chapter 3. Database Searching with Keywords and Hierarchies.  pp: 48-70.

Exercise Assignment Handouts

Boolean Operators

Week 5: Avoiding Plagiarism

Week 4: Avoiding Plagiarism

Class Objectives:
◦ Avoid plagiarism

Discussion:

◦ Discussion of ProQuest Research Companion viewing and assignment
◦ Discussion of plagiarism, copyright, and fair use
◦ Demonstration on establishing authority, summarizing, paraphrasing, quoting, citing in-text and the Works Cited page

Lab Exercises: 

◦ Game on avoiding plagiarism:   http://www.lycoming.edu/library/instruction/tutorials/plagiarismGame.aspx

and/or
◦ Avoiding Plagiarism test:  https://www.indiana.edu/~istd/plagiarism_test_practice.php

(Frick, T. W., Boling, E., Barrett, A., Dagli, C., Myers, R., Albayrak-Karahan, M., Defazio, J. & Matsumura, N. (2014). How to recognize plagiarism: Tutorial and tests. Bloomington, IN: Department of Instructional Systems Technology, School of Education, Indiana University. Retrieved from: https://www.indiana.edu/~istd/ )

Online Assignment:.

◦ Complete ProQuest Research Companion Module 08: How do I avoid plagiarism and find my own voice http://pqrc.proquest.com/ and write a one page essay describing what you learned

Homework:   

Read Badke:  Chapter  8.5: A gentle warning about the horrible crime of plagiarism.  Pp: 208-212.    And Appendix A.1.5.4 Avoiding Theft of Other People’s Work.  pp: 277-278.

 

Plagiarism Video #1

Plagiarism Video #2

Week 6: MLA Basics and RefWorks

Week 6: MLA Basics and RefWorks

Class Objectives:

◦ Cite resources properly using MLA bibliographic style format 7th Edition

◦ Introduction to RefWorks bibliographic citation manager

◦ Format MLA report

Discussion:

◦ Discussion of ProQuest Research Companion viewing and assignment
◦ How to format your MLA paper and Works Cited page
◦ MLA citation basics
◦ Introduction to RefWorks

Lab Exercises: 

◦ Register in RefWorks
◦ Practice  with RefWorks

Online Assignment: 

View ProQuest videos on Learning RefWorks in 20 minutes https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MuVb9j0mX6Y and

Write N Cite https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=um5oOxJjXAk

◦ Ref Grab-it  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=25yPHGyx3T4 and write a one page essay describing what you learned


Homework:  

◦ Read Badke:  Chapter  9:  Organizing Your Resources to Write your Paper  pp 214 - 228

Excercise Assignment Handouts

Purdue Owl MLA Resources

Week 7: Mid Term Open Lab

Week 7: Mid Term Open Lab

Class Objectives:   

  • Preparation for Mid Term Project

Discussion: 

  • Discussion of ProQuest Refworks viewing and assignment

Lab Exercises:

  • Open Lab review, practice, and preparation for Mid Term Project

Mid Term Project details:

  • Locate the article “Before You Turn It In”  by Niko Silvester through the Library Web site
  • Write an essay in MLA 7th edition style in response to reading the article.
  • The essay must show evidence of avoiding plagiarism through summarizing, paraphrasing, quoting, author introduction, in-text citations, and a works cited page 

Homework:  

  • Finish Mid Term Project for submission next week .

Week 8: Evaluating Sources

Week 8: Evaluating Sources

Class Objectives: 

◦ Evaluate research sources and materials

◦ Mid Term Project due today.

Discussion
◦ Evaluate research sources and materials by examining authority, bias, currency, and documentation

Lab Exercises:  http://libraryguides.cnr.edu/RIL4

◦ Group project evaluating Web sites

Online Assignment:.

◦Complete ProQuest Research Companion Module 04:  How do I evaluate sources? http://pqrc.proquest.com/ and write a one page essay describing what you learned

Homework: 

◦ Complete reading Badke:  Chapter  8:  Learning how to read for research.  Pp 188-213 with special attention to section 8.2: Evaluation of research resources, pp. 196-197.

Evaluating an Internet Resource Exercise

Visit each of the links listed below.  Then fill out the Evaluation Form below the links to evaluate the validity of the Web Sites.

 

RYH Hospital 

Pacific Northwest Tree Octopus 

Martin Luther King Site #1  martinlutherking.org

Martin Luther King Site #2   Thekingcenter.org

Evaluation of Web Sites Lab Exercise

Evaluating Web Sites

Week 9: Internet Research

Week 9: Internet Research

Class Objectives:

◦Use the Internet effectively and responsibly for academic research
◦Navigate research with virtual tools

Discussion:

◦ Discussion of ProQuest Research Companion viewing and assignment
◦ Internet tools, search engines

◦ Other sites on the Internet:  TBA:  such as Government Documents and gov sites, public libraries, digital collections
◦ The “Hidden” web
◦ Google vs Google Scholar
◦ How and When to use Wikipedia
◦ Gill Library’s Ask Us 24/7 chat

Lab Exercises:

◦ Navigating research  with virtual online services: Live Chat:  Ask Us 24/7 and email a librarian

Practice Live Chat.  Print and submit chat transcript to instructor via email.


Online Assignment:

◦ Complete Module 05 of Proquest Research Companion:  What counts as evidence? http://pqrc.proquest.com/ and write a one page essay describing what you learned

Homework:  

◦ Read Badke: Chapter 6:  Internet Research

Powerpoint Presentation - COMING SOON

Go Live Ask Us 24/7 Chat With a Librarian

Chat Exercise

Research and Information Literacy  Eng 216A Final Examination:  Welcome to Ask Us 24/7

Student’s Name:___________________________________   Date:_________________________

One of the most important things to remember as you leave this class and continue your studies for College and Lifelong Learning is:  “To find the best possible information on your topic, you should ask the best possible question.”   This will help you and a librarian to locate exactly what you need.

Today you will have an opportunity to “GO LIVE” with a research question of your choosing, using Gill Library’s Ask Us 24/7 Chat service, where you will communicate directly with a librarian in the USA.

Write your Chat question in the space provided below. Include the following elements:

  1. Your thesis topics or topics of interest

  2. The type of information you need:  (journal article, popular magazine article, book, web site?)

  3. The purpose of your research  (Is it for school, work, personal interest, a report, a presentation?)

  4. Any special requirements you have (materials published in the last 5, scholarly materials, peer reviewed articles, archival information, news or government reports, pro-con opinion.)

  5. Where you have already searched for information.

 

 

 An example of a full and well-developed question:   “I am writing a report on animal rights and moral responsibility for my class in _____________.  Could you help me find a _______________(Pick one: scholarly book , a peer reviewed article, a legitimate website, a newspaper article, a government report) published no later than 2000 on my topic.”

Complete assignment by asking your question in Ask Us 24/7 Chat:

  1. Enter Ask Us 24/7 “LIVE” Chat by clicking on the floating box on Gill Library homepage.

  2. Type your name and email address (E-mail is required to receive a copy of your chat transcript.)

  3. Wait to be greeted by your chat librarian.  This may take a minute or two.

  4. Ask your full and well-developed question of your Chat librarian.

  5. Engage in a research conversation with your librarian; follow their advice and feel free to ask for more information as needed.

  6. When your session ends, you will receive a chat transcript via email.  Send the transcript to me at sacampora@cnr.edu

Week 10: Literary Research

Week 10: Internet Research

Class Objectives: 

• Navigate Gill Library Web site to locate and use social sciences resources

Discussion:

• Discussion of ProQuest Research Companion viewing and assignment

• Introduction to social sciences research sources

• Demonstration on searching social sciences databases with special emphasis on databases such as Opposing Viewpoints and CQ Researcher.

 

Lab Exercises: 

• Explore and practice searching Gill Library’s social sciences databases and adding citation information to RefWorks


Online Assignment:

•Complete Module 07 of Proquest Research Companion:  How do I organize my argument? http://pqrc.proquest.com/ and write a one page essay describing what you learned


Homework:

•Read Badke Chapter 7:  Other Resources and Case Studies in Research

Week 11: Social Sciences Research

Week 11: Social Sciences Research

Class Objective:

◦ Navigate Gill Library Web site to locate and use literary resources

Discussion:

◦ Discussion of ProQuest Research Companion viewing and assignment
◦ Introduction to literary and biographical research sources
◦ Demonstration on searching for literary criticism and biographical author information with special emphasis on databases such as Literary Reference Center, JSTOR, and Biography Index.

Lab Exercises: 


◦ Explore and practice searching Gill Library’s social sciences databases and adding citation information to RefWorks


Online Assignment:

◦ Complete Module 09 of Proquest Research Companion:  What do I look for when I revise? http://pqrc.proquest.com/ and write a one page essay describing what you learned


Homework: 

◦ Prepare for final examination

Week 12: Final Examination

Final Examination Instructions

Examination Requirements:

Each student will receive a reference question.

Students will be expected to read and interpret the question using the skills of information literacy learned this semester.

Students will create and perform a successful search to answer the question.  

Locating one example of a successful search result, the student will then format the resource into an appropriate bibliographic citation. 

Students will answers the question on the Final Examination Form to the right or using the paper version below.

Pick One

One of the following questions will be chosen by or assigned to each student:

  • I am doing a research paper on homelessness and children.   My thesis contends that homelessness is a direct cause of mental and physical illness in young children.  I need scholarly peer-reviewed articles published no later than 2007 from a psychology database that supports my thesis.

  • Can you help me find peer-reviewed scholarly articles published in the last ten years on the impact of drug and alcohol addiction on homelessness in New York City.

  • Can you help me find scholarly articles in peer-reviewed journals on how hope counseling may assist in suicide prevention.

  • I am writing a research paper on drug abuse in the United States.  I need a journal or a newspaper article about how doctor’s and the medical profession contribute to the drug abuse epidemic in the USA.

  • I am doing a research paper on bullying for my social sciences class.  I want to research ways that schools can prevent bullying among students.  Could you help me find a scholarly article published within the last 5 years on preventing school bullying?

  • Can you help me find psychology based articles for my cause and effect essay on the effect of divorce on academic achievement in adolescents.

  • My cause and effect thesis is that the use of plastics in the modern age has resulted in global warming. Can you help me find a report that confirms the environmental dangers of using plastics.  There is no publication time limit on my research.

  • Instead of drilling for oil in Alaska we should be looking for ways to reduce oil consumption and the air pollution resulting from fossil fuel use, such as researching renewable energy sources like solar, wind, and geothermal fuel options.  Can you help me find articles that support alternative energy initiatives.

  • I am looking for a scholarly peer reviewed journal articles or a book published in the last ten years on the effects of a parent’s incarceration on family dynamics?

  • I am looking for a scholarly peer reviewed journal article or a scholarly book published in the last ten years on the reasons why  women remain in abusive relationships and what can be done to help them?

  • My thesis argument is that food deserts or lack of availability of nutritional food in poor urban areas is a direct cause of obesity and diabetes?

  • I am looking for research on the relationship between diabetes and diet to support my thesis that excessive sugar content in processed foods is a direct cause of dibetes in children.

  • Can you help me find newspaper articles on “stop and frisk” that addresses whether or not stop and frisk has lowered crime rates in targeted communities or is a tool for racial profiling?

  • I am doing a research paper on ADHD in schools.  Can you help me find out how prevalent is ADHD in NYC classrooms?  What is the best treatment for ADHD?  A research report with statistics would be helpful.

  • Can you help me find a scholarly book or article published recently (2012-14)  that compares and contrasts Charter versus Public schools?

  • Can you help me find a newspaper or popular magazine article on single parenting and its effect on children?   My thesis is that single parenting is better than raising children in a family prone to domestic violence.

  • I am doing research for a paper on the No Child Left Behind act.  Can you help me locate an academic journal article that presents opinions on whether or not the act has been successful.

  • I would like to find scholarly research of any kind on the pro and con posisitons of euthanasia (mercy killing, doctor assisted suicide).  Could you help me?

  • Can you help me locate an essay, article or book from a scholarly perspective published in the last ten years on the relationship between labelling and self esteem?

 

Final Exam Hard Copy Under Construction

Final Examination

Mother Irene Gill Library   29 Castle Place   New Rochelle,  NY 10805 
(914) 654-5340     
copyright 2007/2013     
gillrefdesk@cnr.edu