Introduction
Introduction
by Susan Acampora, M.L.S., M.S., M.S.
History of the CNR Ecofeminism Collection
The
About Ecofeminism
Ecofeminism, sometimes referred to as Ecological Feminism, is a field of study and a focus of social activism that grew out of insight and inquiry derived from the merging of the feminist and environmental movements. The term “ecofeminism”, was originally conceived and employed by the author, Françoise d'Eaubonne, a French feminist and activist, in her books Le féminisme ou la mort, 1974 (Feminism or Death) and Ecologie-feminisme:revolution ou mutation (Eco-feminism: Revolution or Mutation?) . Similarly, it has been adopted by a diverse range of authors and has come to represent and encompass an eclectic expanse of work. Ecofeminists may be found among scholars, activists, poets, writers, artists, philosophers, religious leaders, naturalists, and more.
Ecofeminism explores the relationship between existing social institutions such as patriarchy, capitalism and imperialism and issues pertaining to the domination of women, and the exploitation of nature. Ecofeminists propose that the adoption of feminine sensibilities will promote the healing of social inequalities and help restore balance to the natural world. While their work is diverse, Ecofeminists share in common a profound concern for preserving the integrity and inter-connectedness of all life.
About the Collection
Gill Library's collection of ecofeminism and related materials encompasses classic Ecofeminist texts, seminal works out of which ecofeminist philosophies have evolved, and many related materials that share ecofeminist ideologies. For a deeper understanding of the relevance of early and related scholarship to the field of ecofeminism, an article by Linda Vance: Remapping the Terrain: Books on Ecofeminism. Choice. (June 1993) pp1585+ is highly recommended as it provides a retrospective annotated bibliography and a descriptive essay. Related Materials include texts on spiritual ecology, feminist spirituality, social ecofeminism, deep ecology, feminist activism, animal rights, third world feminism, and Native American spirituality.
Browsing the Collection and Additional Resources
Please use the following links to browse the Ecofeminism Collection at CNR Library:
1- The Ecofeminism Collection arranged by subject divisions This link leads to a 2008 bibliography of the Collection arranged by related subjects such as ecofeminism and activism, psychology, philosophy, religion and spirituality, etc.
2- The Ecofeminism Collection accessed through Gill Library catalog Clicking this link will perform a search of the collection in the Library catalog that will include most recent additions, arranged alphabetically by title.
For more information about the Ecofeminism Collection or for assistance with research on the subject, please contact Susan Acampora at Gill Library of The College of New Rochelle.
Susan Acampora, M.L.S., M.S.
Systems Librarian
Mother Irene Gill Library
The College of New Rochelle
sacampora@cnr.edu
(914) 654-5353
January 2008
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Works Cited:
d'Eaubonne, Françoise. Le féminisme ou la mort, 1974 (Feminism or Death). Paris, P. Horay, 1974.
d'Eaubonne, Françoise. Ecologie-feminisme:revolution ou mutation (Eco-feminism: Revolution or Mutation?) Paris : EĢditions A.T.P., 1978.
Vance, Linda. "Remapping the Terrain: Books on Ecofeminism" Choice. (June 1993) pp1585+
Biography |
Susan Acampora Contact Info The College of New Rochelle Gill Library 29 Castle Place New Rochelle, New York, 10805 Send Email Links: Website / Blog |
Loading...
